International Nurses Day 2021: A vision for future healthcare

The International Nurses Day was celebrated globally this month. In an era where so much emphasis has been placed on the essential role played by nurses during the Covid-19 pandemic, let’s have a closer look at this celebration and its origins. On Nurses’ Day, which celebrates nurses’ contribution to the health care system, we are also focusing on two nurses from Clinique Bon Pasteur.

May 12: the celebration of the International Nurses Day every year! Bound by tradition, Clinique Bon Pasteur also celebrated this event this year, as a means of paying tribute to our nurses.

Launched in 1965 by the International Council of Nurses (ICN), this date has been chosen to commemorate Florence Nightingale’s birth. The latter, born in 1820, was a British nurse who pioneered the setting-up of the first science-based nursing school in London. She is also known for her contribution in the use of statistics in the field of health.

Like her, many nurses around the world are committed to their profession, and for some, it has passed down from generation to generation, like Michael Jerry Toussaint, nurse at Clinique Bon Pasteur. Having seen several family members in the profession, he has been motivated to carry on the family tradition. “I have that in my soul, in my blood, and I have been in this profession for 15 years now “. As for Sheela Kamayah, Nursing supervisor at Clinique Bon Pasteur, she chose this profession as she has always been prone to helping people: “I like to give a helping hand to people and alleviate their suffering, it is my vocation, and that is why I have chosen this profession which I have been practising for almost 20 years now”. For her, “Clinique Bon Pasteur gave me the opportunity to make my dream come true”.

According to the ICN, “the pandemic has exposed the enormous pressures our nurses are working under, while shining a light on their incredible commitment and courage”, and each nurse can have a different perspective on this pandemic. For Mr. Toussaint, he does not really feel exposed to the virus, and did not experience this lockdown period with a lot of stress, even if he was working at the clinic during this time: “Since we have not had any case of Covid at the clinic so far, I did not feel that I was really exposed”. He felt, however, that some members of the public were afraid of him because of his profession, although this is understandable, he said, given the situation in the country now. For Ms. Kamayah however, she has worked hard during the lockdown, and although she was not afraid for herself, the idea of possibly infecting her loved ones sent shivers down her spine. This second confinement was peculiar, as there were more patients coming to the clinic. According to her, during the first confinement, patients were afraid to come to the clinic, but this year, patients were more numerous, and some chose health centres like Clinique Bon Pasteur, where there were no Covid cases.

The theme for International Nurses Day 2021: The Nursing Profession: A Voice to Lead, the sub-theme being “A Vision for future healthcare”. For the ICN, this theme “reflects on the impact of Covid-19 on the health system and the nursing profession and how these might be affected into the future. Nurses, as the largest healthcare profession, must play an integral part in planning the future of healthcare”. Ms. Kamayah thinks this is an interesting topic, because nurses need to be encouraged to do so. As for Mr. Toussaint, he says he is already living it fully: “during my 15 years of service, this has been the case. As a nurse, we are there 24/7 at the patients’ bedside”

Like our two colleagues, many are in this profession at Clinique Bon Pasteur. Feel free to call Clinique Bon Pasteur for any health related issue on 401-9500, and if you come to our clinic, you will have the opportunity to see our nurses in action. To these men and women devoted night and day, we wish them a happy Nurses Day, a celebration of the noble acts accomplished by nurses for society!

Related Article


Osteoarthritis is the most common joint disease, often associated with ageing. It is thought to be caused by the ageing of the joints, but can affect individuals of any age, and more particularly athletes and people suffering from obesity. On this World
Physical pain, dizziness, lung problems, psychiatric disorders, osteoarthritis… Is there anything that physiotherapy does not treat? With the aim of improving the patient’s physical condition, physiotherapy uses various means to design the best
As your pregnancy is coming to full term, you realise that Mother Nature is being temperamental: your delivery will thus have to be scheduled. What are the reasons behind such a decision? How to get prepared? Here is the answer in three parts. What are the
Here it is: you are expecting your first child and asking yourself a lot of questions… What is exactly the role of a paediatrician? Why is it important to have one? When to look for one? Dr. Alleesaib, paediatrician at the Clinique Bon Pasteur, is answering
While the benefits of breastfeeding have been long proven, many mothers become quickly discouraged. Lack of time, stressful sessions, lack of psychological support, incorrect information… And yet, breastfeeding is all good! We discussed the matter with Dr.
Launched in the United States, where the consumption of ultra-processed foods is one of the worst habits, National Junk Food Day is an annual reminder of the dangers of unhealthy food. Indeed, it is thought to be responsible for one in five deaths, even more
Thanks to phenomenal medical and technological progress, people tend to live longer every year. However, with a growing ageing population, the WHO reports that by 2021, 1 in 6 elderly people are likely to have been subjected to abuse. On this World Elder
When we talk about a clinic’s efficiency, we immediately associate it with the care organization and teams. However, many of our behind-the-scenes colleagues are vital to making the Clinic efficient and productive. Among them are the system
Even today, vitiligo is a condition that is still causing researchers much concern! Affecting about 1% of the population, it is expressed by a gradual depigmentation of the skin that irregularly affects certain parts of the body, particularly the face,
July 15th marks World Youth Skills Day and celebrates the importance of teaching young people all the relevant skills needed to achieve success in employment, getting a decent job and becoming an entrepreneur. The Clinique Bon Pasteur has been participating
We often hear about the importance of having a health check-up. As a preventative health care measure, it helps to identify potential pathologies before they appear or become serious. Who should have a check-up? How does it work? Interview with Dr Panchcoory,
Each year on May 25th, the thyroid gland is given special attention. And for good reason! Despite its small size, this gland controls many of our body’s essential functions. And since thyroid disorders are among the most common endocrine problems,
While the baby blues, which is often associated with postpartum hormonal shifts, is rather common after birth, postpartum depression affects up to 20% of new mothers, the WHO reports. How to explain such phenomenon? What are the signs to watch for? How to
Temperatures have started to drop and evenings are turning milder. Winter is beginning to show its face, no doubt about it! With it comes the onset of seasonal flu, which can be prepared for with the vaccines offered by the Clinic. Who are they for? When to
Radiology and pulmonology : what pulmonary imaging can reveal about your lungs Everyday your lungs are doing an extraordinary job: bringing oxygen into the blood and driving out the carbon dioxide produced by the cells. They may be nevertheless affected by
Since the Clinique Bon Pasteur is committed to the safety and health of its employees and collaborators as well as its patients and visitors, works have been initiated this year to provide an optimal environment to all. Anju Teeluck, Health & Safety
Think about your heart’s health and say no to tobacco We often associate smoking with lung diseases, yet we tend to forget its harmful effects on the heart. According to the WHO, one in five deaths due to heart disease is directly linked to smoking –
For the World Health Day on the 7th April 2022, the WHO has decided to focus on the link between health and environment. Today, we are increasingly exposed to air pollution, in which we participate, and this has an effect on our health, with smoking being one
Overview about premature labour and delivery with Dr Nawoor According to the WHO, premature births account for about 11% of all live births in the world. Quite a substantial figure! While premature labour happens rather inadvertently, are there ways to
Getting ready for childbirth in 10 questions You are pregnant and you are hearing more and more about preparation for childbirth. You are probably asking yourself thousands of questions… Is it really necessary? What exactly is this? Rozie Alcide, midwife at

Journée Internationale des infirmiers 2021: Une vision pour les soins de demain

Nous avons célébré la Journée internationale des infirmières et des infirmiers. A l’ère où énormément d’emphase a été mise sur le rôle primordial des infirmiers durant la pandémie de la Covid-19, nous nous sommes intéressés à cette célébration. Lumière sur ses origines, de même que sur 2 infirmiers de la clinique Bon Pasteur à l’occasion de cette célébration honorant leur contribution au système de santé.

Le 12 mai : date à laquelle nous célébrons chaque année la Journée internationale des infirmières. Tradition oblige, cette journée a aussi été célébrée à la Clinique Bon Pasteur comme chaque année pour rendre hommage à nos infirmiers et infirmières.

Lancé en 1965 par le Conseil international des infirmières (CII), la date du 12 mai a été choisie pour commémorer la naissance de Florence Nightingale. Cette dernière, née en 1820, était une infirmière britannique, pionnière de la création de la première école d’infirmières à base scientifique à Londres. Elle est aussi connue pour sa contribution dans l’utilisation des statistiques dans le domaine de la santé.

Tout comme elle, de nombreux infirmières et infirmiers à travers le monde ont à cœur leur métier, et pour certains, cela se transmet de génération en génération, à l’instar de Michael Jerry Toussaint, infirmier à la Clinique Bon Pasteur. Ayant vu plusieurs membres de la famille dans le métier, cela l’a motivé à reprendre le flambeau. « J’avais ça dans l’âme, dans le sang. Ainsi, j’exerce ce métier depuis 15 ans maintenant ». Quant à Sheela Kamayah, Nursing Supervisor à la Clinique Bon Pasteur, elle a choisi ce métier avec le cœur : « J’aime aider les gens et apaiser leur souffrance, c’est ma vocation, et c’est pour cela que j’ai choisi ce métier que j’exerce depuis bientôt 20 ans ». Pour elle, «la Clinique Bon Pasteur m’a donné l’occasion de réaliser mon rêve ».

Selon la CII, « la pandémie a mis en lumière la pression énorme reposant sur nos infirmiers, tout en braquant les projecteurs sur leur incroyable dévouement et leur courage », et chaque infirmier peut avoir un regard différent sur cette pandémie. Pour M. Toussaint, il ne se sent pas vraiment exposé, et n’a pas vécu ce confinement avec un grand stress, même s’il travaillait durant cette période : « Vu que nous n’avons pas eu de cas de Covid à la clinique à ce stade, je n’ai pas senti que j’étais vraiment exposé ». Il a cependant senti que certains membres du public avaient peur de lui à cause de sa profession, bien que cela se comprenne dit-il, vu la situation dans le pays actuellement. Pour Mme. Kamayah cependant, elle a travaillé d’arrache-pied durant le confinement, tout en ayant la peur au ventre, non pas pour elle, mais plutôt peur de la possibilité de contaminer ses proches. « On a travaillé tous les jours, et certains ont même fait des shift de 24 heures » La particularité de ce deuxième confinement est qu’il y avait plus de patients à la clinique. Selon elle, lors du premier confinement, les patients avaient peur de venir en clinique, mais cette année, les patients étaient plus nombreux, et certains ont choisi des centres de santé comme la Clinique Bon Pasteur, où il n’y a pas eu de cas de Covid, pour recevoir leurs soins de santé.

Le thème de la Journée internationale des infirmières 2021 : La profession infirmière: une voix faite pour diriger, le sous-thème étant « Une vision pour les soins de demain ». Toujours selon la CII, « cette thématique porte sur les répercussions immédiates et à venir de la Covid-19 sur le système de santé et la profession infirmière : les infirmiers, qui forment la catégorie la plus nombreuse de personnels de santé, doivent pleinement prendre part à la planification des soins de santé de demain ». Mme. Kamayah pense que c’est une thématique intéressante, car il faut encourager les infirmières et infirmiers en ce sens. Quant à M. Toussaint, il dit le vivre pleinement déjà : « durant mes 15 années de service, ça été le cas. En tant qu’infirmier, nous sommes là 24/7 au chevet des patients »

Tout comme nos deux interlocuteurs, nombreux sont-ils à exercer ce métier à la clinique Bon Pasteur. N’hésitez donc pas à appeler la clinique au 401-9500 si vous avez un souci de santé, et si vous venez à la clinique, vous aurez l’occasion de voir ces infirmiers et infirmières en action. A ces hommes et ces femmes dévoués nuit et jour, nous leur souhaitons donc une bonne fête en cette occasion qui, rappelons-le, est une célébration des nobles actes accomplis par les infirmières et infirmiers pour la société !

Articles Liés


Maladie des articulations la plus commune, l’arthrose est bien souvent liée à l’avancée en âge. Attribuée au vieillissement des articulations, elle peut cependant toucher les individus de tout âge, avec, en ligne de mire, les sportifs et les
Douleurs physiques, vertiges, problèmes pulmonaires, troubles psychiatriques, arthrose… Y a-t-il quelque chose que la physiothérapie ne sait pas traiter ? Ayant pour but l’amélioration de la santé physique de la personne, cette dernière utilise
Alors que votre grossesse touche à sa fin, vous apprenez que Dame Nature ne sera pas au rendez-vous et qu’il vous faudra programmer votre accouchement. Quelles sont les raisons d’une telle décision ? Comment s’y préparer ? La réponse en trois
Ça y est, vous attendez votre premier enfant et vous vous posez plein de questions… En quoi consiste exactement le rôle d’un pédiatre ? Pourquoi est-il primordial d’en avoir un ? Quand en chercher un ? Dr Alleesaib, pédiatre à la Clinique Bon
Si les bienfaits de l’allaitement ne sont plus à démontrer, nombreuses sont celles qui se découragent vite. Manque de temps, sessions éprouvantes, manque de soutien psychologique, mauvaises informations… Et pourtant, l’allaitement a tout bon !
Née aux États-Unis, l’un des pays les plus touchés par la consommation de produits ultra-transformés, la Journée mondiale de la malbouffe vient rappeler, chaque année, les dangers d’une nourriture peu saine. En effet, celle-ci serait responsable
Poussé par des avancées médicales et technologiques fulgurantes, le prolongement de la vie connaît, chaque année, un avancement constant. Dans le sillage d’une population vieillissante grandissante, l’OMS note un constat glaçant : en 2021, 1
Lorsque l’on parle du bon fonctionnement d’une clinique, on pense automatiquement à l’organisation des soins et des équipes. Or, nombreux sont ces travailleurs de l’ombre qui constituent des rouages essentiels d’une clinique performante et
Le vitiligo : voilà une affection qui, aujourd’hui encore, donne du fil à retordre aux chercheurs ! Touchant environ 1 % de la population, il s’exprime par une dépigmentation graduelle de la peau qui touche irrégulièrement certaines parties du
Le 15 juillet marque la Journée mondiale des compétences des jeunes pour célébrer l’importance de transmettre à ceux-ci toutes les compétences nécessaires à l’emploi, à l’obtention d’un travail décent et à
On nous parle souvent de l’importance de faire un bilan de santé. Agissant comme outil préventif, il permet de détecter les pathologies éventuelles, avant même qu’elles ne se fassent sentir. À qui est-il destiné ? Comment se déroule-t-il ?
Chaque 25 mai, c’est la thyroïde qui est mise à l’honneur. Et pour cause ! Bien qu’elle soit petite, cette glande permet de contrôler de nombreuses fonctions essentielles de notre corps. Et puisque les dérèglements de la thyroïde comptent parmi
Si le baby blues, souvent lié aux modifications hormonales post-accouchement, est plutôt courant après la naissance, la dépression post-partum toucherait, selon l’OMS, jusqu’à 20 % des nouvelles mères. Comment expliquer ce phénomène ? Quels sont
Les températures commencent à fléchir et les soirées s’adoucissent. Plus de doute, l’hiver commence à poindre son nez ! Et avec son arrivée, l’apparition de la grippe saisonnière, à laquelle on peut se préparer grâce aux vaccins proposés par
Chaque année, les infirmiers et infirmières sont mis à l’honneur le 12 mai, date de naissance de la célèbre Florence Nightingale. Cette dernière aura su toucher de nombreux cœurs grâce à son écoute, son dévouement et son professionnalisme. Cette
Puisque la Clinique Bon Pasteur a à cœur la sécurité et la santé de ses employés et collaborateurs comme de ses patients et visiteurs, de nombreux travaux ont été enclenchés cette année pour offrir à tous un espace de vie optimal. Anju Teeluck,
Pensez à votre santé cardiaque et dites non au Tabac Si l’on associe souvent tabagisme et santé pulmonaire, on a tendance à oublier ses effets néfastes sur le cœur. Selon l’OMS, un décès sur cinq dus à une maladie cardiaque serait directement
Pour la Journée mondiale de la santé le 7 avril 2022, l’OMS a décidé de mettre l’accent sur le lien qui unit notre santé à celle de la planète. Aujourd’hui, nous sommes de plus en plus exposés à la pollution de l’air, à laquelle nous
Travail et accouchement prématurés :  tour d’horizon avec le Dr Nawoor Selon l’OMS, les naissances prématurées représentent environ 11 % des naissances vivantes dans le monde. Un chiffre non négligeable ! Si le travail prématuré se déclenche
Se préparer à l’accouchement en 10 questions! Vous êtes enceinte et on vous parle de plus en plus de préparation à l’accouchement. Vous vous posez probablement des milliers de questions… Est-ce vraiment nécessaire ? En quoi cela consiste-t-il