Anti-Covid Vaccines: Global Trends

As many countries at global level have started their vaccination campaigns, let’s have a quick overview of the different vaccines available to date. Although the campaign at national level is aimed at caregivers and front-line workers at this stage, it is interesting to know how vaccines work and what are the most used anti-covid vaccines as of now.

Vaccines: How Do They Work?
The principle is simple: Inject a tiny amount of a specific virus into the body so that the immune system learns to recognise and defend itself against this virus: this is the modus operandi of all vaccines. A vaccine is therefore a preventive measure, and not a remedy aimed at curing a disease that has already infected a person. According to the WHO Covid-19 vaccine trials provisional table, there are currently 179 candidate vaccines in development, of which 63 have reached the human clinical trial phase.

What are the most common anti-Covid vaccines?
1. AstraZeneca / Oxford (Covishield)
The Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine, authorised in Europe, requires 2 injections, with a delay of 9 to 12 weeks in between. This vaccine has satisfactory effectiveness (between 62% and 70% depending on the study), almost no side effects, and can be stored in the refrigerator. The Covishield vaccine manufactured by the Indian laboratory Serum Institute of India and available in Mauritius is in fact the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine, made in India through a transfer of technology. Note that the WHO announced this month that this vaccine can be administered to people over 65 as well, its effectiveness having previously been questioned for this age group.

2. Pfizer-BioNTech
Authorised in Europe and the United States, this vaccine has an expected effectiveness of 95%, validated by a New England Journal of Medicine publication. It is also effective for the new variants identified in Great Britain and South Africa. It requires 2 shots, with a 21-28 days delay, and should be stored at -80 ° C.

3. Moderna
Authorised in Europe and in the United States, this vaccine is 94.5% effective according to the preliminary analysis published by the laboratory. It is administered in two doses, 28 days apart and can be stored for up to six months in a freezer, at -20 °C, then up to thirty days in a refrigerator before use.

4. Sputnik V
The Russian vaccine reports an effectiveness of 91.6%, according to results published in the medical journal The Lancet and validated by independent experts. It is given in 2 shots, 21 days apart, and can be stored in dehydrated (freeze-dry) form in the refrigerator, between 2 and 8 °C. This vaccine will soon be available in Mauritius, and is already used in some countries besides Russia, such as Algeria and Argentina, and more and more countries are interested in it. Europe is currently considering its authorisation.

5. Johnson & Johnson
This vaccine, which is administered in a single dose, has an effectiveness of 66%. It should be authorised shortly in the United States, and will also be used in South Africa.

Although massive vaccination campaigns are not yet on the table in Mauritius at this stage, it is still recommended to observe social distancing and wear a mask.

Related Article


Osteoarthritis is the most common joint disease, often associated with ageing. It is thought to be caused by the ageing of the joints, but can affect individuals of any age, and more particularly athletes and people suffering from obesity. On this World
Physical pain, dizziness, lung problems, psychiatric disorders, osteoarthritis… Is there anything that physiotherapy does not treat? With the aim of improving the patient’s physical condition, physiotherapy uses various means to design the best
As your pregnancy is coming to full term, you realise that Mother Nature is being temperamental: your delivery will thus have to be scheduled. What are the reasons behind such a decision? How to get prepared? Here is the answer in three parts. What are the
Here it is: you are expecting your first child and asking yourself a lot of questions… What is exactly the role of a paediatrician? Why is it important to have one? When to look for one? Dr. Alleesaib, paediatrician at the Clinique Bon Pasteur, is answering
While the benefits of breastfeeding have been long proven, many mothers become quickly discouraged. Lack of time, stressful sessions, lack of psychological support, incorrect information… And yet, breastfeeding is all good! We discussed the matter with Dr.
Launched in the United States, where the consumption of ultra-processed foods is one of the worst habits, National Junk Food Day is an annual reminder of the dangers of unhealthy food. Indeed, it is thought to be responsible for one in five deaths, even more
Thanks to phenomenal medical and technological progress, people tend to live longer every year. However, with a growing ageing population, the WHO reports that by 2021, 1 in 6 elderly people are likely to have been subjected to abuse. On this World Elder
When we talk about a clinic’s efficiency, we immediately associate it with the care organization and teams. However, many of our behind-the-scenes colleagues are vital to making the Clinic efficient and productive. Among them are the system
Even today, vitiligo is a condition that is still causing researchers much concern! Affecting about 1% of the population, it is expressed by a gradual depigmentation of the skin that irregularly affects certain parts of the body, particularly the face,
July 15th marks World Youth Skills Day and celebrates the importance of teaching young people all the relevant skills needed to achieve success in employment, getting a decent job and becoming an entrepreneur. The Clinique Bon Pasteur has been participating
We often hear about the importance of having a health check-up. As a preventative health care measure, it helps to identify potential pathologies before they appear or become serious. Who should have a check-up? How does it work? Interview with Dr Panchcoory,
Each year on May 25th, the thyroid gland is given special attention. And for good reason! Despite its small size, this gland controls many of our body’s essential functions. And since thyroid disorders are among the most common endocrine problems,
While the baby blues, which is often associated with postpartum hormonal shifts, is rather common after birth, postpartum depression affects up to 20% of new mothers, the WHO reports. How to explain such phenomenon? What are the signs to watch for? How to
Temperatures have started to drop and evenings are turning milder. Winter is beginning to show its face, no doubt about it! With it comes the onset of seasonal flu, which can be prepared for with the vaccines offered by the Clinic. Who are they for? When to
Radiology and pulmonology : what pulmonary imaging can reveal about your lungs Everyday your lungs are doing an extraordinary job: bringing oxygen into the blood and driving out the carbon dioxide produced by the cells. They may be nevertheless affected by
Since the Clinique Bon Pasteur is committed to the safety and health of its employees and collaborators as well as its patients and visitors, works have been initiated this year to provide an optimal environment to all. Anju Teeluck, Health & Safety
Think about your heart’s health and say no to tobacco We often associate smoking with lung diseases, yet we tend to forget its harmful effects on the heart. According to the WHO, one in five deaths due to heart disease is directly linked to smoking –
For the World Health Day on the 7th April 2022, the WHO has decided to focus on the link between health and environment. Today, we are increasingly exposed to air pollution, in which we participate, and this has an effect on our health, with smoking being one
Overview about premature labour and delivery with Dr Nawoor According to the WHO, premature births account for about 11% of all live births in the world. Quite a substantial figure! While premature labour happens rather inadvertently, are there ways to
Getting ready for childbirth in 10 questions You are pregnant and you are hearing more and more about preparation for childbirth. You are probably asking yourself thousands of questions… Is it really necessary? What exactly is this? Rozie Alcide, midwife at

Vaccins anti-Covid : Les tendances mondiales

Depuis que différents pays à travers le monde ont commencé leur campagne de vaccination, nous nous interessons cette semaine aux vaccins disponibles à ce jour. Bien que la campagne au niveau local ne concerne à ce stade que le personnel soignant et les travailleurs de première ligne, nous vous proposons un petit tour d’horizon sur les vaccins : Comment fonctionnent-ils et quels sont les vaccins anti-Covid les plus utilisés ?

Les vaccins : Comment fonctionnent-ils ?
Le principe est simple : Injecter une infime quantité d’un virus spécifique dans le corps, afin que notre système immunitaire apprenne à reconnaitre et à se défendre contre ce virus : c’est le modus operandi de tous les vaccins. Un vaccin est donc une mesure préventive, et non pas un remède visant à guérir d’une maladie affectant déjà une personne. Selon le tableau provisoire de l’OMS pour les vaccins à l’essai pour la Covid-19, il y a, à ce jour, 179 vaccins-candidats en développement, dont 63 en phase d’essai clinique sur l’humain.

Quels vaccins anti-Covid sont les plus utilisés ?
1. AstraZeneca/Oxford (Covishield)
Le vaccin d’Oxford-AstraZeneca, autorisé en Europe, nécessite 2 injections, avec un délai de 9 à 12 semaines entre. Ce vaccin a une efficacité satisfaisante (entre 62% et 70% selon les études), quasiment aucun effet secondaire, et se conserve au réfrigérateur. Le vaccin Covishield fabriqué par le laboratoire indien Serum Institute of India et le seul disponible à Maurice à ce stade, est en fait le vaccin d’Oxford-AstraZeneca, fabriqué en Inde à partir d’un transfert de technologie. A noter que l’OMS a annoncé ce mois-ci que ce vaccin pouvait être administré aux plus de 65 ans aussi, son efficacité ayant été préalablement remise en question pour cette tranche d’âge.

2. Pfizer-BioNTech
Ce vaccin, autorisé en Europe et aux Etats Unis, a une efficacité établie à 95%, validé par une publication du New England Journal of Medicine. Il serait ainsi efficace aussi pour les nouvelles variantes identifiées en Grande Bretagne et en Afrique du Sud. Il nécessite 2 injections, le délai entre les deux injections étant de 21 ou 28 jours, et il doit être conservé à -80°C.

3. Moderna
Autorisé aux Etats Unis et en Europe, ce vaccin est efficace à 94,5% selon l’analyse préliminaire publiée par le laboratoire. Il s’administre en deux doses espacées de 28 jours et se conserve jusqu’à six mois dans un congélateur, à -20°C, puis jusqu’à trente jours dans un réfrigérateur avant utilisation.

4. Spoutnik V
Le vaccin russe Spoutnik V, rapporte une efficacité de 91.6%, selon des résultats publiés dans la revue médicale The Lancet et validés par des experts indépendants. Il est administré en 2 doses à 21 jours d’intervalle, et peut être conservé sous forme déshydratée (freeze-dry) au réfrigérateur, entre 2°C et 8°C. Ce vaccin sera bientôt disponible à Maurice, et est déjà utilisé dans certains pays outre la Russie, comme l’Algérie et l’Argentine, et intéresse de plus en plus de pays. L’Europe étudie actuellement son autorisation.

5. Johnson & Johnson
Ce vaccin qui est administré en une seule dose a une efficacité de 66%. Il devrait être autorisé sous peu aux Etats-Unis, et sera aussi utilisé en Afrique du Sud.

Bien que des campagnes de vaccinations massives ne soient pas encore d’actualité à Maurice à ce stade, il est toujours recommandé d’observer la distanciation sociale et de porter un masque.

Articles Liés


Vos poumons font, au quotidien, un travail extraordinaire : celui d’apporter de l’oxygène dans le sang et d’évacuer le dioxyde de carbone produit par les cellules. Il arrive néanmoins qu’ils soient touchés par des affections, notamment liées au
Chirurgie orthopédique Spécialité touchant au traitement chirurgical et à la correction de diverses déformations et blessures, la chirurgie orthopédique couvre décidément un large domaine ! Et pourtant, certaines affections, plus courantes, font, le
C’est connu : le cancer du sein, représentant plus d’un tiers des cas de cancer, est le plus commun chez les femmes. Saviez-vous qu’il peut aussi, bien que beaucoup plus rarement, toucher les hommes ? Raison de plus pour connaître les symptômes à
Maladie des articulations la plus commune, l’arthrose est bien souvent liée à l’avancée en âge. Attribuée au vieillissement des articulations, elle peut cependant toucher les individus de tout âge, avec, en ligne de mire, les sportifs et les
Douleurs physiques, vertiges, problèmes pulmonaires, troubles psychiatriques, arthrose… Y a-t-il quelque chose que la physiothérapie ne sait pas traiter ? Ayant pour but l’amélioration de la santé physique de la personne, cette dernière utilise
Alors que votre grossesse touche à sa fin, vous apprenez que Dame Nature ne sera pas au rendez-vous et qu’il vous faudra programmer votre accouchement. Quelles sont les raisons d’une telle décision ? Comment s’y préparer ? La réponse en trois
Ça y est, vous attendez votre premier enfant et vous vous posez plein de questions… En quoi consiste exactement le rôle d’un pédiatre ? Pourquoi est-il primordial d’en avoir un ? Quand en chercher un ? Dr Alleesaib, pédiatre à la Clinique Bon
Si les bienfaits de l’allaitement ne sont plus à démontrer, nombreuses sont celles qui se découragent vite. Manque de temps, sessions éprouvantes, manque de soutien psychologique, mauvaises informations… Et pourtant, l’allaitement a tout bon !
Née aux États-Unis, l’un des pays les plus touchés par la consommation de produits ultra-transformés, la Journée mondiale de la malbouffe vient rappeler, chaque année, les dangers d’une nourriture peu saine. En effet, celle-ci serait responsable
Poussé par des avancées médicales et technologiques fulgurantes, le prolongement de la vie connaît, chaque année, un avancement constant. Dans le sillage d’une population vieillissante grandissante, l’OMS note un constat glaçant : en 2021, 1
Lorsque l’on parle du bon fonctionnement d’une clinique, on pense automatiquement à l’organisation des soins et des équipes. Or, nombreux sont ces travailleurs de l’ombre qui constituent des rouages essentiels d’une clinique performante et
Le vitiligo : voilà une affection qui, aujourd’hui encore, donne du fil à retordre aux chercheurs ! Touchant environ 1 % de la population, il s’exprime par une dépigmentation graduelle de la peau qui touche irrégulièrement certaines parties du
Le 15 juillet marque la Journée mondiale des compétences des jeunes pour célébrer l’importance de transmettre à ceux-ci toutes les compétences nécessaires à l’emploi, à l’obtention d’un travail décent et à
On nous parle souvent de l’importance de faire un bilan de santé. Agissant comme outil préventif, il permet de détecter les pathologies éventuelles, avant même qu’elles ne se fassent sentir. À qui est-il destiné ? Comment se déroule-t-il ?
Chaque 25 mai, c’est la thyroïde qui est mise à l’honneur. Et pour cause ! Bien qu’elle soit petite, cette glande permet de contrôler de nombreuses fonctions essentielles de notre corps. Et puisque les dérèglements de la thyroïde comptent parmi
Si le baby blues, souvent lié aux modifications hormonales post-accouchement, est plutôt courant après la naissance, la dépression post-partum toucherait, selon l’OMS, jusqu’à 20 % des nouvelles mères. Comment expliquer ce phénomène ? Quels sont
Les températures commencent à fléchir et les soirées s’adoucissent. Plus de doute, l’hiver commence à poindre son nez ! Et avec son arrivée, l’apparition de la grippe saisonnière, à laquelle on peut se préparer grâce aux vaccins proposés par
Chaque année, les infirmiers et infirmières sont mis à l’honneur le 12 mai, date de naissance de la célèbre Florence Nightingale. Cette dernière aura su toucher de nombreux cœurs grâce à son écoute, son dévouement et son professionnalisme. Cette
Puisque la Clinique Bon Pasteur a à cœur la sécurité et la santé de ses employés et collaborateurs comme de ses patients et visiteurs, de nombreux travaux ont été enclenchés cette année pour offrir à tous un espace de vie optimal. Anju Teeluck,
Pensez à votre santé cardiaque et dites non au Tabac Si l’on associe souvent tabagisme et santé pulmonaire, on a tendance à oublier ses effets néfastes sur le cœur. Selon l’OMS, un décès sur cinq dus à une maladie cardiaque serait directement